Recipes

Review, Recipe and finally Relax!

Today was a pretty normal day in all counts, so you may be wondering why on earth I may be posting on the blog for?

Well firstly, in my lunch hour I came across Vogue’s article on Sarah Jessica Parkers venture into a shoe collection here. Having heard rumours previously I was quite excited, and why wouldn’t I be?! SJP, star of Sex and the City, Fashionista and all round Style icon for the past decade was launching a shoe collection! I was expecting BIG things (get-it?). However, as you may have seen by now the collection leaves a lot to be desired. I was greatly disappointed and hope that it’s just SJP being a bit of a sell out, putting her name on the brand rather than her own designs. The only shoes worth wearing in the collection are pretty basic, whereas the rest are a bombardment of mismatched colours and odd styles that should be left in whatever charity shop era they came from.

Now, with the rant over I carried on my day with a pretty positive note, getting lots done. I love a good productive day!

Once home I was ready to make a scrummy dinner! I’ve been meaning to make Pappa al pomodoroย for literally years now! I carried on forgetting about it, but after routing about mine and P’s travel Journal through Italy I found it! In Florence we visited a little osteria ย nestled round the corner from the Duomo, I had this fantastic Bread and tomato soup in essence. But it is so much more than that! it’s like a proper hug in a bowl (like those old hug-in-a-mug adverts, but a little less creepy). Comforting, warm and economic! what’s more to love?!

I set about making it and here is what I put in to serving 4:

a generous glugg of olive oil

2 cloves garlic (chopped finely)

3 tsp dried chilli flakes

1 can chopped tomatoes

1 vegetable stock cube

2 tsp dried basil (or a handful of fresh basil)

Pinch of Sea salt

Pinch of Black Pepper

about 250g of stale crusty bread/half a small loaf (torn into bite size pieces)

First in a heavy based pot put in your olive oil and put on a medium temperature. Once the oil has reached the desired temperature add in your garlic and chilli flakes.

Whilst these simmer blitz the chopped tomatoes till smooth. Add the smooth tomatoes, a tins worth of water and vegetable stock cube to the pot and allow to come to a simmer.

Add your basil now if dried (add basil last minute if fresh) then salt and pepper. Leave to simmer for 5 minutes. Then add the bread, allow to soak up the juices whilst you lay the table.

Bon Apetito

Pappa al Pomodoro

As quick as it was made it was gone!All Gone

I LOVE Italian food and it just so happens I have some beautiful friends out there, it enthrals me when they cook their local dishes and bring treats over! Just watching them cook is fascinating, it’s looking at food in a whole other light!

Anyway I digress. If you try it let me know what you think! I’d love to hear any feedback, or alterations you have to the recipe!

Now for a steaming cup of Nutella Hot Chocolate to wind down in front of Revenge with!

Leave me a little comment...

