Recipes

Recipe | Healthy Salted caramel brownies

Ever find yourself trawling through the delicious sweet recipes on Pinterest, drooling, whilst dreaming of a summer body? I certainly do!

With these healthy tid-bits you get all the gorgeous decadence, with very little guilt!

I’ve made their naughty cousins before. This time however, they’re all natural, deliciously gooey and here’s the best bit – their filled with goodness!

A few weeks ago my friend presented me a deliciously fudgey brownie with a grin plastered across her face, “they’re made with black beans, no flour, no processed sugar.” She exclaimed. You could barely taste the difference between that which I had just eaten and a normal brownie, but the texture was the perfect brownie, and it comes out perfect every dang time!

The recipe for those brownies is from Chocolate Covered Katie, what I have since done is also made a silky smooth healthy salted caramel to top it all off!

But before I tell you how to make the caramel, to save you the embarrassment I’ll give you a tip, as I spent a long time wandering the aisles in search of Black beans, if you can’t find tinned black beans, they may well have a dried version – It didn’t even cross my mind to look for dried! All that’s different to Katie’s recipe is you need to boil the beans for 10 minutes, then simmer for an hour.

So what you’ve all been waiting for the salted caramel topping:

80g dates

100ml milk (or non-dairy milk of your choice)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp sea salt

Blend all ingredients except sea salt until smooth – it’s that simple! This should be ready to spread on top of your brownies straight out of the oven and sprinkle with sea salt. Alternatively, pop the ‘caramel’ in the fridge and use as a dip!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Recipe | Healthy Salted caramel brownies

  1. I looovvvveeee baked goods and this makes it guilt free. Yay! Win win. I will definitely be trying these. I love Chocolate Covered Katie too and your addition of salted caramel topping is perfection. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave me a little comment...

