Recipes

Recipe | Simple Paleo Banana Bread

As you can tell from my tendency to eat out, I love a treat. However doing this everyday would not be good for my body, my arteries or my purse.

So between snazzy meals (which are fewer and far between than they may seem), I try to eat as healthily as possible.

While I’m a big fan of healthy eating, I’m not a fan of having to trawl around five different shops just to get the ingredients I need. Thus, I like to adapt healthy recipes I’ve read to make them as easy to source as possible, whilst not sacrificing taste, texture or the healthy deliciousness.

This recipe is no exception with easy to find and affordable ingredients. Most paleo banana breads out there have 101 ingredients, ingredients you can’t find anywhere or have never heard of. So I swapped, modified and devised this simple paleo banana bread!

4-5 medjool dates, pitted

200g oats

2 eggs

1 teaspoon honey

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (or fresh vanilla, if you’re feeling snazzy)

3 medium ripe banana (2 mashed)

A pinch of salt

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 – 1 teaspoon cinnamon (depending on how much you like cinnamon – I love it!)

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

– optional (and highly recommended) 100g dark chocolate, chopped roughly.

Before and after the 5 mins!

If you’re banana’s aren’t as ripe as you want them to give that true banana flavour bake them in the oven for 5 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius.

Blend the dates til smooth in a food processor or blender.

Blend the oat until fine like flour.

Mix all the ingredients, sparing the whole banana and some chocolate for decoration. Pour mix into a baking tin, approx. 8×8 inches and top with the halved banana and sprinkle with chocolate.

Bake for between 20-30mins depending on how dewy you like your bread and serve!

It’s that easy!!!

Perfect way to use up a bit of chocolate about the house. Why not add in a dash of Orange rind?

Leave me a little comment...

