London

Blending v Juicing: Which is better?

Blending or Juicing? That is the question!

Keen to know more I went along to Joe’s bloggers #currysintrojuicing event. This was my first blogging event, so naturally I was a little nervous, but everyone was so much fun, I quickly forgot about my nerves! I sat on a table with the lovely Tasha, Lorna, Emma & Katherine

Stephanie from raw&juicy gave us a whistle stop tour of the different machines you can use, the pros and cons of juicing and blending.

Whilst the people behind the cocktail made us a fresh mocktail using the pro 6 blender before we got to the juicy bits ourselves and created a tropical smoothie and a energy boost veggie juice.

Basically, juices can be added to your own diet as an energy booster, think of it as a healthy chocolate bar, a quick fix (that can plummet just as quickly). This is because by juicing fruit and veg you are getting rid of the fibre. Therefore, your body doesn’t use the energy digesting the fibre, allowing quicker absorption of the sugar, vitamins and minerals.

How cute is the Philips Viva Collection Juicer – looks like a mini R2D2!

But by getting rid of the fibre, you have a lot of waste and have to have a substantial amount of fridge space to produce a juice. To put this into perspective, 12 carrots make 1 litre of carrot juice – and if you’re working with leafy greens you’ll get even less juice of of them.

These leaflets were on each table, giving some common sense tips along with a few fruits & vegetables that aren’t good for juicing – but can be added to a juice by blending them first!

What should you do with the pulp waste? Stephanie had a few good suggestions, putting it in you compost heap, making soups, in baking, but my favourite was making ice lollies from a fruit/veg mix, healthy, delicious and you know exactly what has gone into it!

In reality, I highly doubt I would be that virtuous, especially if I juiced frequently. Plus the idea of the faffing with cleaning out the pulp and the juicing machine puts me off alone.

However, fibre is extremely important in our diets and this is where smoothies step in. You keep everything that you put in smoothies and it’s quick and easy to clean a blender out after! People often forget that a smoothie is effectively a meal, blend a serving and a halfs worth of fruit and veg, then wonder why on such a healthy diet they aren’t losing weight. So don’t blend more than you’d eat in one sitting and take your time drinking it. Consuming dietary fibre helps lowers blood cholesterol and normalizes blood sugar levels.

Katherine was telling me she adds a few nuts and seeds to her smoothies for some extra protein and fats, which I’d never really thought of.

All-in-all both juicing and smoothies are a great way to take in a few extra fruit and veggies easily. Juices as an energy boost and are bursting with nutrients – I don’t know about you, but I don’t often find myself eating 12 carrots. Whilst smoothies are more substantial and can be great for breakfast, remember they are a meal on their own.

Read more about the night on curry’s website.

Although I was invited to this event, I was not sponsored for this post and as usual all views and opinions are out of my own head!

Leave me a little comment...

