Eateries · Eating Out · Food · London

Bukowski Grill, Soho

There’s a brand new bad boy in town, he is a gentleman, but at the heart of it he’s simpl y filthy. Now before you all run off and fling your bibles at me for infidelity, I’m chatting about a restaurant – do I ever talk about anything but food?!

/

A few weeks ago I went to the soft launch of the Soho and branch to Bukowski Grill. American style cuisine, cooked in an all British charcoal oven.

/

Now I know what you’re thinking, Bonnie stop with the burgers. Well firstly, NEVER! & secondly there’s so much more than burgers…

Keep reading…

Walk in and you get a converted warehouse vibe, edgy, snazzy, very en vogue. All the things we wish we could convey. We walked in on the soho branch of Bukowski Grills maiden voyage.

The staff welcomed us and showed us to our table that we had booked. Can I get a hallelujah?

Yes London, get back on the reservation game! I like knowing I have a table and I don’t have to queue it puts my nerves to rest and I can check the menu without the fear that we’ll actually go somewhere with a shorter and/or faster queue.

Anywho, the staff were super efficient and surprisingly formal, even though casually dressed. I liked it. I mean tell me if I’m wrong but who doesn’t like being brought tap water to the table without asking and poured for you. It makes you feel like you’re having an occasion – and when you hear about the food there’s no doubt about that!

/

My friend ordered a California burger – well done – it came rather crisp, so if you’re one for a well done burger, you’re probably safe at medium. The flavour was good, sauce yum and bacon perfectly crispy.

A chili cheese fries to share – smokey, hot, think chilli concarne, meaty, chunky & full of flavour. a genorous sprinkling of cheese & a dollop of sour cream – much needed as the chilli has a kick, not too much but the sour cream is definitely good for that build up!

/
& checkout the portion size! You could have it as a main on it’s own! I love a place that isn’t afraid to give you a fair portion!

Talking of heat the homemade lemonade is also delicious and a great palate cleanser to wash away the chillies. Lemonade is something that in recent years has declined I feel, often over sweet, however here its sharp, still sweet and enough water to stop you from puling ridiculous bitter faces.

/

Now here’s the thing which would keep us coming back, what we both agreed stole the show. Their fried chicken & buttermilk waffles, drizzled in a maple syrup & green chillie sauce. Hot, sticky, sweet, crispy chicken & fluffy light waffles, an absolute dream on the taste buds and certainly a great introduction to chicken & waffles which I’ve often heard of but never tried.

/

Bukowski Grill, you’ve won me over! Get the lemonade, chicken & waffles at the ready, I’m sure to become a regular!

Bukowski Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave me a little comment...

